Kino wins townscape award

Screen stars: Mike Eve (centre) holding the brick with Rob Pollard of Jonathan Dunn Architects, fellow members of the Fletcher group and Julian Luckett (far right)

Rye Conservation Society presented its most prestigious townscape award to Fletcher in Rye CIC for its work in sponsoring development of the Rye Kino from concept to completion. At the society’s AGM last Friday (April 17), Julian Luckett, on behalf of the society and its townscape committee, congratulated Mike Eve, chairman of Fletcher in Rye and the driving force behind the project, on creating a new focal heart for Rye.

The award certificate cited “a major contribution to life in Rye by the reuse and refurbishment of the historic schoolrooms as the Kino Digital”. A clearly delighted Mike Eve accepted the symbolic award brick and thanked everyone involved with him in realising an idea first envisioned by Freddie Lees, a former long-time resident of Rye and noted author.

Other awards presented included: Southern Gas Networks and their reinstatement contractors CLC Ltd received craftmanship awards in recognition of their work in relaying the cobbles in Church Square to a high standard, such that the repair is scarcely visible. Certificates of merit were presented for contributions to the appearance of Rye to Amanda Bheir, proprietor of the Café on the Quay, Scott Brotherton of the Standard Inn in the Mint, KT and Martin Bruce for the external improvements to their house at The Saltings, Tram Road, Rye Harbour and to Lucy Forrester for Café des Fleurs at Rye Station.

John Griffiths, chairman, paid tribute to the members of his committee, who each reported on highlights of the year, and thanked in particular John Pope, Judith O’Connor and Helen Griffiths. He also welcomed David Bookless and Wayne Jones, who volunteered to take on the work of hon. secretary and enforcements respectively. Members were then invited to gather for lunch at the Mermaid Hotel.

Photo: Mike Slavin