Rye Harbour snooker the rest

Rye Club - home of the snooker league

Rye Harbour’s team currently heads the snooker league and the Granary Club heads the billiards, but all could change in the new year.

The snooker league is played on Wednesday evening with four players in a team. The league comprises two divisions of five teams – three teams from Rye Club, two from the Granary Club Rye, two from Northiam,  two from Tenterden and one from Rye Harbour.

In Division 1 only five points separate top from the bottom so there will be all to play for in the new year. The Rye Harbour team of Ian Leroy-Lewis, Mike White, Carl Davis and Colin Shambrook are the current leaders in Division I, followed by Rye Club 4 (Larry Cooke, Ted Jackson, Ernie Vicarey and Steve Pope). Pope is the only undefeated player in the league this season.

In Division 2, Alan Simpson, John Raper, Alan Sawkins and Gary Simpson of the Northiam 2 team are in second place with a game in hand over Tenterden 2, who are the division leaders.

The billiards league is played on a Thursday evening with two players in a team and each player having a handicap. Heading the billiards league is the Granary 2 team of Will Willard and John Cato; Willard has the highest handicap in the league with -40. Eric Cole & Steve Pope the Rye Club 1 team are in second place.

Photo: Dennis Leeds-George